2017.3.18

唯美的 ICO 式冒险游戏 《RiME》背后的故事

作者 Jeremy Peel

但凡看起来像是轻描淡写的游戏,其背后往往融入了你想象不到的漫长而繁重的工作。为了实现这种简约的风格,开发人员会费尽心思地对游戏进行“蒸馏”,消除所有不必要的元素,同时小心地保留精华。他们努力确保玩家不会察觉到这种“简单轻松”背后的辛劳。

《RiME》便是这样一种游戏——这部 ICO 式单人解谜冒险游戏讲述了一个小男孩在一场可怕的风暴中遭遇海难并漂流至奇异岛屿的故事。暴风雨过后,迎来的是一种清新、梦幻般的艺术风格和沁人心脾的音乐烘托下的几乎超现实的静谧氛围。

Tequila Works 花了四年时间使其恰到好处。让我们来看看他们都做了哪些事。

确定造型


《RiME》第一个引人注目的地方是其简单的美学——裹着红围巾的主角与晒白的地中海式建筑相互衬托。男孩自己是卡通造型,乍一看像是使用了卡通渲染——这种渲染手法放弃使用更微妙的色调和材质,以呈现更独特的漫画风格。

“事实上,游戏的视觉效果不是通过卡通渲染实现的,”技术美工师 Pablo Fernández 解释道,“而是我们在虚幻引擎 4 的基于物理渲染 (PBR) 材质的基础上进行了改编,使其符合我们设定的游戏艺术视角,然后通过使用纹理和光照来实现“卡通”般的造型。”

与此同时,《RiME》中美丽如画的风景——让人联想到吉卜力工作室的手绘背景——则是在 3D 渲染过程中通过使用“极简的纹理和鲜活的颜色”实现的。

“我们设法把噪声频率保持在尽可能低的水平,”Fernández 说道,“为此我们采用了大块的色彩,并设法避免它们在环境中占过多的篇幅。”
从一个岛到多个岛

正如在《生化奇兵 (BioShock)》中总是有灯塔,在《RiME》中也总是有高塔。但其他很多地方在游戏开发过程中都发生了改变,世界的范围也从单独的一个岛增加到了多个。幸运的是,虚幻引擎 4 提供的异步加载系统能使游戏只在必要的时候提取数据。

自从虚幻引擎的源代码向开发人员开放后,Tequila Works 得以通过调整这些系统来进一步减少内存容量的压力,同时确保《RiME》中精心营造的氛围不会被毫无气氛可言的加载时间所打破。

移植到 PC

blogAssets%2F2017%2FMARCH+2017%2FMIU+-+RiME%2FRiME_MIU_Pic1-770x433-b60d2e5d434dc57e12a96a57c3ea155f0a59e416

《RiME》有一段有趣而漫长的 PC 移植之旅。它最初在索尼的 2013 Gamescom 展会上公布为 PS4 游戏,但其后 Tequila Works 又购回了游戏的版权并宣布多平台发布。

“虽然《RiME》最初是 PS4 独占游戏,但我们从一开始就是使用虚幻引擎 4 进行开发,”Tequila Works 的首席程序员 Carlos Vázquez 解释道,“将其用作游戏测试平台并在此基础上构建游戏,然后使游戏与 PS4 的规格适配。”

在这些早期阶段,Tequila Works 就利用了虚幻引擎 4 的蓝图视觉脚本编制系统来快速地制作工作原型——而无需依赖于深入的编程。
“所以,可以这么说,我们从一开始就在致力于 PC 版本的游戏制作,”Vázquez 说道。

blogAssets%2F2017%2FMARCH+2017%2FMIU+-+RiME%2FRiME_MIU_Pic2-770x433-2c17078fd46868388a089c868fad146b055cfe21

尽管如此,Tequila Works 还是聘请了华沙的专业移植团队 QLOC 来帮助完成 RiME 的 PC 移植。这需要一些专家级的“版本控制”——这种变更管理可以确保每个人都是基于相同的构建版进行游戏开发。

通常情况下,工作室倾向于仅在一个共享的构建版上进行操作,以免在开发时快速衍生出大量不同的版本。但是 QLOC 没时间等《RiME》的 PS4 版完成后再启动 PC 移植。

“在我们合作开发 PS4 版的菜单和 UI 时,我们是直接对 Tequila 的版本库进行操作的,”QLOC 进一步解释道。“但是与此同时,我们也基于自己的版本库为 PC 版开发同样的 UI,并添加了一些额外的功能,例如图形设置和鼠标键盘控制。

“为了避免重复工作,我们必须对版本进行精确的控制。”

blogAssets%2F2017%2FMARCH+2017%2FMIU+-+RiME%2FRiME_MIU_Pic3-770x433-5145a252f84273a4ce31ac996da8a09a1516a62d

QLOC 需要定期地合并这两个版本库——“这一直都是一项艰巨的任务”。除了这种组织方面的棘手问题,他们在第三方中间件上所需投入的精力也超出了预期。

“通常引擎或中间件的功能可以在某一平台上得到完美发挥,但到另一平台上就会出问题,”QLOC 说道。“对这些问题进行修复是移植过程中必不可少的一部分,而且通常是最大的技术挑战。值得庆幸的是,中间件提供商的出色支持使我们能够克服任何问题。”

尽管阻碍重重,《RiME》终于有望在五月跨四个平台发布,两个团队可以抱着快乐的心情品味这部“背后辛劳几人知”的美妙无声游戏。

“作为一个很小的团队,我们为编程和视觉风格方面取得的成果感到十分自豪,”Vázquez 总结道。“考虑到我们当中的一些人之前没有任何使用虚幻引擎 4 的经验,这种感受尤其强烈。”

《RiME》预计于五月在 Steam、PlayStation 4、Xbox One 和 Nintendo Switch 上发布。虚幻引擎 4 现已免费。

编者按:PCGamesN 选择了几款迷人的虚幻引擎游戏,采访了其开发者,从而制作出长篇连载的“在虚幻引擎中制作游戏”系列。Epic 对编写过程没有施加影响。

 

最近文章

Andy Serkis探讨虚幻对视频游戏技术的推动作用

在虚幻引擎4的技术支持下,《人猿星球:最后边疆》将该福克斯系列电影引入了互动娱乐领域。

《巨石阵VR:沙盒模式》的建筑灵感

Jessica Villarreal和Christian Bretz在亲自体验过VR后大受启发,两人立即认识到了VR的潜力并决定转型。在联手创办了Vo...

《Maelstrom》:危机四伏的公海

《Maelstrom》将街机风格的动作玩法与极具个人风格的奇幻灵感相结合,足以颠覆你对海战的印象。

RiME

The Reason Behind Beautiful Ico-esque Adventure RiME

Jeremy Peel on | games

If ever a game looks like it’s been handled with a light touch, you can assume the work was long and heavy. Developers have sweated over that simplicity, boiling away all non-essential elements while taking care not to lose the essence. They’ve toiled to ensure that, by the end, players can’t detect the strain that went into that effortlessness.

RiME is definitely one of those games - an Ico-esque, single-player puzzle adventure about a young boy shipwrecked on a strange island during a terrible tempest. In the aftermath of the storm comes an atmosphere of almost surreal calm, buoyed by a clean, airy art style and a sweeping score.

It’s taken Tequila Works four years to get right. Here’s what they’ve been up to.

Getting the look


RiME first turned heads with its simple aesthetic - a red-scarfed protagonist juxtaposed with bleached, Mediterranean-style buildings. The boy himself bears a cartoon look that at first glance resembles cel-shading - the rendering technique that opts out of more subtle tinting and shading for a more distinctive comic-book style.

“Actually, the game’s visuals are not cel-shaded,” explains technical artist Pablo Fernández, “but an adaptation of Unreal Engine 4’s PBR (Physically Based Rendering) materials, tailored to suit our artistic vision of the game and achieve a ‘cartoon’ look through the use of texture and lighting.”

RiME’s beautifully framed landscapes, meanwhile - summoning  the hand-drawn backgrounds of Studio Ghibli - were brought about in 3D rendering through the use of “minimalist textures and vibrant colours”.

“We tried to maintain the noise frequency as low as possible,” says Fernández, “by implementing big masses of colour while trying not to overload the environments.”
From island to islands

Just as in BioShock there was always a lighthouse, in RiME there was always a tower. But an awful lot else has changed over the course of its development, the scope of the world growing from just one island to many. Fortunately, UE4 has systems for asynchronous loading, allowing games to pull up data only when it's needed.

Since Unreal Engine’s source code is made accessible to developers, Tequila Works have been able to fiddle with those systems to reduce pressure on memory capacity still further, while ensuring RiME’s carefully curated vibe isn’t scuppered by decidedly un-atmospheric loading times.

Porting to PC

blogAssets%2F2017%2FMARCH+2017%2FMIU+-+RiME%2FRiME_MIU_Pic1-770x433-b60d2e5d434dc57e12a96a57c3ea155f0a59e416

RiME has had a funny old journey to the PC. Originally unveiled for the PS4 at Sony’s Gamescom show in 2013, Tequila Works have since reacquired the rights to the game and announced a multi-platform release.

“Even though RiME was originally a PS4 exclusive, we used Unreal Engine 4 from the outset,” explains Tequila Works lead programmer Carlos Vázquez, “using it as a playtesting ground where we could build the game and then adapt it to the PS4 specifications.”

In those early stages, Tequila Works exploited UE4’s Blueprint visual scripting system to quickly turn out working prototypes - without recourse to in-depth programming.
“So, you could say we have been working on a PC version of the game from the very beginning,” says Vázquez.

blogAssets%2F2017%2FMARCH+2017%2FMIU+-+RiME%2FRiME_MIU_Pic2-770x433-2c17078fd46868388a089c868fad146b055cfe21

Nonetheless, Tequila Works have recruited the help of Warsaw port specialists QLOC to adapt RiME for the PC. It’s required some expert-level ‘version control’ - the management of changes to to ensure that everybody’s working with the same build of the game.

Ordinarily, studios tend to work from just one shared build, so that development doesn’t quickly spiral into a mess of multiple versions. QLOC didn’t have time to wait for RiME to be finished on PS4 before starting on its PC port, however.

“As we were co-developing menus and UI for the PS4 version we were working directly on Tequila’s repository,” expand QLOC. “But at the same time, we were developing the PC version of that same UI, with additional features like graphic settings and mouse and keyboard controls, on our repository.

“In order not to double the work precise version control was required.” 

blogAssets%2F2017%2FMARCH+2017%2FMIU+-+RiME%2FRiME_MIU_Pic3-770x433-5145a252f84273a4ce31ac996da8a09a1516a62d

QLOC have needed to merge the two repositories regularly - “something that’s always a challenge in itself”. That organisational nightmare aside, they’ve needed to lavish more attention on third-party middleware than originally expected.

“Very often engine or middleware features work perfectly fine on one platform, but bugs occur on another,” say QLOC. “Fixing these is an essential part of the process, and usually the biggest technical challenge. Thankfully, the excellent support from the middleware providers meant we could overcome any issues.”

Despite the hurdles, with RiME’s May release date across four platforms finally in sight, the two teams are able to look with fondness at the subtle, muted game beyond the sweat and tears.

“We are really proud of what we have achieved with a really small team in terms of programming and visual style,” concludes Vázquez. “Especially considering that some of us didn’t have any previous experience with Unreal Engine 4.”

RiME is set for release on Steam, PlayStation 4, Xbox One and Nintendo Switch in May. Unreal Engine 4 is now free.

Editor's Note: PCGamesN selects fantastic Unreal Engine games and interviews developers of their choosing for the long-running "Making It in Unreal" series. Epic has no influence on the editorial process.

 

Comments

!

Previous Next
  • Edit
  • Preview
  • Help
Enter
Please login to place a comment
X Report this Comment
Report
X Attention


close
X Edit this Comment
  • Edit
  • Preview
  • Help
Update
X Remove this Comment

Are you sure you want to remove this comment?

Remove
X Attention