2014.1.15

使用虚幻引擎4制作科幻探索幸存者游戏

作者 Dana Cowley, Brian Rowe

Sjoerd De Jong在其同事和同学间以“Hourences” 而出名,他已经无可置疑地成为了虚幻引擎社区的核心力量。尽管玩家可能是通过他在 The Ball、 UnmechanicalRekoil 等游戏中的工作更好地了解他, 但对于应用虚幻引擎技术的独立开发者来说,De Jong的汇集14年经验的大量教程是这些开发者的知识来源。

随着宣布制作 Solus,De Jong 和其Teotl Studios中的同事WiktorOhman、Mario Marquardt 和Bianca Savazzi正在结合他们的游戏开发经验,并利用虚幻引擎4的优势,来制作一款具有华丽视觉效果的科幻幸存者游戏,该游戏中您的敌人是异域环境;制作游戏的前提是创建并控制剧烈变幻的气象系统和自然灾难。

Solus

De Jong从1999年开始了解虚幻引擎,那时他15岁,一个商店广告诱使他骑着自行车长途跋涉到那个城市去购买 虚幻引擎。很快,他就为游戏的3D领域和无可比拟的视觉效果所吸引,他利用平等的机会并带着勇气开始了游戏模组制作和游戏开发之旅。

De Jong 回忆说,“那时候我还不能访问网络,我的英语也不是很好,所以我基本上完全不知道从何下手。我没有任何教程、没有网络、没有其他人的帮助,之前也没有经验。换句话说,我是通过数月的随便点击所有功能学会使用虚幻引擎的,直到我渐渐地开始认识到它的模式和技术。"

De Jong专心做了一年的关卡设计后,他联系到了虚幻引擎社区,开始通过其作品不断地获得赞誉,并且建立了重要的人际关系。他通过他的技术在Guerrilla Games、Digital Extremes、Starbreeze Studios、Webzen及其他工作室获得了工作。在这个过程中,他也在Epic的制作虚幻作品大赛中留下了不可磨灭的痕迹。

制作虚幻作品大赛首次启动于2003年,后续活动分别在2008年、2012年和2013年举办。自从De Jong首次参赛开始,他的贡献使他获得了8项令人印象深刻的第一名成就,并且其成品在不同类别的游戏和不同的阶段中15次入围前五名。2008年的比赛中, The Ball,使得Teotl Studios受到了众人关注, 最终于2010年发行了商业版本,并使得De Jong成为了独立游戏开发者在虚幻引擎方面的主要支持者。

Solus

De Jong的网站Hourences.com,是许多首次尝试应用虚幻引擎的开发者和学生要到的第一站。那里为初学者和高级用户提供了针对虚幻引擎3和虚幻开发工具包的大量教程,网站页面访问量已经达到480亿。 De Jong除了为Eat3D制作指南和培训视频外,他还定期到当地大学里去做虚幻引擎方面的演讲,并在FutureGames中担任主要角色,FutureGames是位于瑞典斯德哥摩尔的一个游戏开发教育项目。

当谈到De Jong从那时到现在的经验以及他对虚幻引擎的贡献时,他说“虚幻引擎一直在赋予开发者以力量,我喜欢这种'所见即所得'的感觉。尽管早期的很多虚幻引擎都需要手动地编辑文本文件或者不能在编辑器中预览任何光照效果,但是虚幻引擎却具有完全不同的处理,采用了对于用户来说更加友好的方法。看到在虚幻引擎4中仍然采用了这种理念,这是非常令人钦佩的。

De Jong 正在使用虚幻引擎4开发Solus,他说转换到新技术和工具集“感觉就像回家了一样”。当考虑到从虚幻引擎3进行的大量升级时,他说虚幻引擎4的全新蓝图可视化脚本系统是他最喜欢的功能,使用该系统可以创建游戏的动态天气系统,甚至可以自动化构建关卡的某些内容。

Solus

在 Solus中,玩家必须在具有异常恶劣环境的、无人居住的星球上生存。在这种环境中,玩家不断受到各种威胁:超级高温及超级低温、涨落的潮汐、不断变化的风和雾、以及影响从表面大气到上面星球的数十种其他变化。通过使用蓝图,Teotl Studios将整个天气和天空系统压缩到一个单独的脚本中。

“对于我来说,蓝图是游戏的变革者。它远远超越了虚幻引擎3中的Kismet,并且功能非常强大。我是一名设计师也是一名美术师,在我的整个职业生涯中,蓝图让我第一次制作了整个原型和游戏,且没有触碰到一行代码。我从来没有见过任何类似这样的其他可视化脚本工具或编辑器,蓝图的强大功能远远超越了任何其他现有工具。”

作为一个名职业关卡设计师, De Jong总是认为使用虚幻引擎创建迷人世界是回报率最高的。 Solus 的地貌确实非常令人震撼,但是综合考虑其广袤范围和Teotl Studios的小团队,效率就变得非常重要。通过使用蓝图,De Jong可以通过创建脚本来在地形上随机放置石头和树木,从而自动化一些关卡设计过程,这大大地降低了工作量。

Solus

蓝图并不是使用虚幻引擎4时发现的唯一亮点。De Jong介绍了新的基于物理的着色器和基于图层的材质是如何帮助他们控制 Solus的视觉效果的。“我特别设计了一些可以同新的基于物理的着色器和材质系统协同工作的游戏组成部分。比如 Solus中的金属总是弯曲的,而石头表面总是平直的。之所以做出这个决定就是为了利用新系统,并提高阴暗石头和反光金属的对比度。”

在和De Jong在分开时,他对他的粉丝和虚幻引擎开发者同伴说了一些心里话。“到现在为止,我已经加入虚幻引擎社区14年了,这里所遇到的人对于我来说是最珍贵的。能看到哪些人玩了你制作的游戏并喜欢该游戏,能和同具有相似想法和背景的人进行交流,这是最美好的事。

要想查看关于 Solus的更多信息,请访问 www.solusthegame.com. 查看  www.hourences.com 来获得开发更新和虚幻引擎教程,并在Twitter上通过 @Hourences 来关注Sjoerd De Jong。

最近文章

Andy Serkis探讨虚幻对视频游戏技术的推动作用

在虚幻引擎4的技术支持下,《人猿星球:最后边疆》将该福克斯系列电影引入了互动娱乐领域。

《巨石阵VR:沙盒模式》的建筑灵感

Jessica Villarreal和Christian Bretz在亲自体验过VR后大受启发,两人立即认识到了VR的潜力并决定转型。在联手创办了Vo...

《Maelstrom》:危机四伏的公海

《Maelstrom》将街机风格的动作玩法与极具个人风格的奇幻灵感相结合,足以颠覆你对海战的印象。

Solus

Survival, Sci-fi and Discovery with Unreal Engine 4

Dana Cowley, Brian Rowe on | games

Project Details

Developer
Teotl Studios
Platforms
PC
URL
Visit site

Sjoerd De Jong, better known as “Hourences” to his colleagues and students, has been an undeniably pivotal force in the Unreal Engine community. While gamers might know him best through his work on The Ball, Unmechanical, Rekoil and a long list of other games, De Jong’s extensive tutorials collecting 14 years of experience have become the go-to source of knowledge for independent developers adopting Unreal Engine technology.

With the announcement of Solus, De Jong and fellow Teotl Studios developers Wiktor Ohman, Mario Marquardt and Bianca Savazzi are combining their expertise in game development while leveraging the benefits of Unreal Engine 4 to create a visually arresting sci-fi survival game in which an alien environment is the enemy; a premise requiring the creation and control of intensely dynamic meteorological systems and natural disasters.

Solus

De Jong’s relationship with Unreal Engine began in 1999 at the age of 15, after a store advertisement compelled him to make a long trek to the city by bicycle to purchase Unreal. Immediately enthralled with the game's 3D realms and unrivaled visuals, he began his journey into modding and game development with equal parts chance and fortitude.

As De Jong recalls, “I did not have Internet access in those days, and my English was far from good, so I basically had absolutely no clue what to do. I did not have any tutorials, no Internet, no help from anyone, and no prior experience. In other words I learned to use Unreal Engine by randomly clicking everything for months on end, until I began to recognize patterns and techniques."

After a year of dedicating himself to level design, De Jong connected with the Unreal Engine community, developing recognition for his work and forging important contacts. He used his skills to land work with Guerrilla Games, Digital Extremes, Starbreeze Studios and Webzen, among other studios. Along the way he also left an indelible mark on Epic’s Make Something Unreal legacy.

Make Something Unreal first launched in 2003, with subsequent events kicking off in 2008, 2012 and 2013. Since entering that first competition, De Jong's contributions resulted in an impressive eight first place achievements and 15 top-five finishes across different categories and phases. It was the 2008 entry, The Ball, that put Teotl Studios in the limelight, leading to a commercial release in 2010 and positioning De Jong as a leading proponent of Unreal Engine for independent game developers.

Solus

De Jong's website, Hourences.com, is the first stop for many developers and students dipping their feet into Unreal Engine for the first time. Packed with tutorials for Unreal Engine 3 and the Unreal Development Kit, for beginners and advanced users alike, the website has pulled in 4.8 million pageviews. In addition to producing tutorials and training videos for Eat3D, De Jong regularly speaks about Unreal Engine at local universities and holds a leading role at FutureGames, a game development education program located in Stockholm, Sweden.

When speaking about his experiences from then to now and his dedication to Unreal Engine, De Jong says, “Unreal Engine has always been about empowering the developer, and I love that ‘what you see is what you get.’ While many engines in the early days relied on manually editing text files, or not previewing any lighting in the editor, and so on, Unreal Engine took this completely different and much more user-friendly approach. It is just as impressive to see how that ideology is still very much present in Unreal Engine 4.”

Solus is being developed with Unreal Engine 4, and De Jong says that transitioning into the new technology and toolset “felt like coming home.”  When considering the numerous upgrades from Unreal Engine 3, he cited Unreal Engine 4’s new Blueprint visual scripting as his favorite feature, using it to create the game’s dynamic weather systems and even automate some of the level-building.

Solus

In Solus, players must survive on an uninhabited planet amid incredibly harsh conditions with the player under constant threat from extreme highs and lows of temperatures, rising and falling tides, shifting winds and fog, and dozens of other variables that affect everything from the ground-level atmosphere to the stars above. Using Blueprint, Teotl Studios has been able to condense the entire weather and sky system into a single script.

“Blueprint is the game-changer for me. It goes far beyond Kismet in Unreal Engine 3 and is incredibly powerful. I am a designer and artist, and for the first time in my career, Blueprint allows me to make entire prototypes and games without requiring me to touch a line of code. Never have I come across any other visual scripting tool or editor that comes within a thousand miles of the power of Blueprint.”

As a professional level designer, De Jong has always held Unreal Engine’s tools for creating captivating worlds in the highest regard. The landscape of Solus is a stunning sight indeed, but its scope combined with the small size of Teotl Studios placed a heavy emphasis on the need for efficiency. With the help of Blueprint, De Jong was able to automate some of the level design process by creating script to randomly place rocks and trees in the terrain, significantly reducing the workload in the process.

Solus

Blueprint wasn't the only highlight of working with Unreal Engine 4. De Jong described how the new physically-based shaders and layer-based materials helped direct the visual aesthetic of Solus. “I specifically designed parts of the game to work well with the new physically-based shader and material systems. Metal is always curved in Solus, for example, and stone surfaces are always flat and straight. The decision was made in order to utilize the new systems and heighten the contrast between the dull stones and the reflective metal.”

De Jong parted with some heartfelt words for his fans and fellow Unreal Engine developers. “I have been part of the Unreal Engine community for about 14 years now, and it is the people that have been the most rewarding. To see that people play and enjoy what you've made, and to be able to talk with likeminded people of similar backgrounds is the best thing about it.”

To see more of Solus, be sure to visit www.solusthegame.com. Check out www.hourences.com for development updates and Unreal Engine tutorials, and follow Sjoerd De Jong on Twitter via @Hourences.

Comments

!

Previous Next
  • Edit
  • Preview
  • Help
Enter
Please login to place a comment
X Report this Comment
Report
X Attention


close
X Edit this Comment
  • Edit
  • Preview
  • Help
Update
X Remove this Comment

Are you sure you want to remove this comment?

Remove
X Attention