2010.2.9

虚幻引擎2.5再次将生化奇兵2中的水下大都市Ratputre变得栩栩如生

作者 John GFaudiosi

加州,旧金山 – 当Irrational Games(也就是现在的2K Boston)开始着手制作它的水下冒险世界,来将最初版本生化奇兵中的水下都市Rapture变得栩栩如生时,他们选择了虚幻引擎2.5。尽管这个由最初版本游戏的8个关键成员监管的新团队(2K Marin)已经开始负责该单玩家游戏续作(Digital Extremes正在多伦多独立地开发前作的多玩家版本),但虚幻引擎2.5仍然是这个独特的屡获嘉奖的游戏所用的主要工具。

“坦率地讲,我是个虚幻引擎爱好者,自从我刚开始成为一名策划我就已经是了,”生化奇兵2的创意总监Jordan Thomas说。“现在,我们的虚幻引擎版本具有其自己特定的特性…它分支出许多不同的功能,我们在那基础功能上叠加了许多我们团队的自定义功能。”

BioShock 2

Thomas说,事实上,生化奇兵2和第一个游戏一样进一步推进了让舆论和玩家赞不绝口的视觉效果,并且它仍然是在虚幻引擎2.5上运行的,这足以说明该技术的多功能性。他说,尽管生化奇兵1和生化奇兵2的开发团队所做的大量编程处理是很重要的,但是他认为虚幻引擎2.5在经过如此大量的自定义处理后仍然可以制作出像生化奇兵2这样的游戏是非常令人惊叹的。”

“对于我们来说,这是个非常有趣的情形,因为在过去的8年或9年中我们在Irrational工作室已经对虚幻引擎3的特征进行了修改,它具备了很多自定义功能,”生化奇兵的策划主管Zak McClendon说。“所有的开发都有其自己的考验及困难,但是虚幻引擎具有一个非常好的优势,即它具有非常棒的关卡设计工具集,而这正是任何良好设计流程的基础。这些功能使得我们的团队可以快速地进行工作。”

Hogarth de la Plante,生化奇兵2的环境美工主管,他曾经是第一款游戏中的高级环境关卡美术师。他说,之所以决定不升级到虚幻引擎3是因为他们的团队在第一个游戏中没有出现任何图形问题。

BioShock 2

“我想我们几乎赢得了那年行业所提供的任何美术指导及图形效果奖,所以我们想‘好吧,我们真的想在此时改变我们的整个工作流程,转到使用虚幻引擎3进行工作吗,还是仅是想通过我们针对生化奇兵2设计的内容来对原有游戏进行翻新?’ 所以,最终我们决定这次这样做。”

De la Plante说,团队不断地在虚幻引擎2.5的基础上构建的专有技术。他想改进当玩家位于海洋中时所看到的海洋的外观,所以一个团队成员创建了使得海水效果看上去更好的专用着色器技术。De la Plante说,虚幻引擎2.5为他的美工人员提供了更大的灵活性,使得他们可以在着色器方面进行更多创新。

他接着说,单纯地从技术层次来说,该技术使得团队可以使用较少的内存来完成更多的处理。

BioShock 2

“在生化奇兵2中,我们在渲染侧书写测定体积雾,我们添加了环境遮挡,并将这些功能烘焙到我们的关卡中,而且我们完全地重写了AI系统,”de la Plante说。“这时引擎里有很多东西,所以它和普通的虚幻引擎2.5不同。几乎很难认出它是虚幻引擎2.5。事实上,在这个游戏中我们具有虚幻引擎3的整个着色器系统。我们喜欢Epic所实现的这个功能,所以团队成员将其融合到了我们的虚幻引擎版本中。”

公司的系统策划Alan Goode说,Digital Extremes已经使用虚幻技术很长时间了,当我们制作生化奇兵2的新的多玩家在线游戏体验时,我们的团队得到了他们的帮助。

“我们之前使用虚幻引擎的经验意味着我们有很多有才华的人,他们已经知道了引擎架构并知道如何完成我们需要做的处理,从而将该技术进一步推进,”Goode说。“即使是针对构建关卡来说,具有之前的经验也是非常有帮助的,因为我们的关卡设计人员清楚地知道如何使用BSP等诸如此类的东西,使得可以充分地利用该技术,最后所有内容都刚好可以融合到一起。”

BioShock 2

Goode说,Digital Extremes团队必须构建生化奇兵2的所有多玩家方面的代码,因为2K Marin所采用的修改后的虚幻引擎2.5技术没有多玩家支持。Goode保证最终玩家将体验到交互合作的狂欢。

“多玩家在线游戏的明显突出特点是:当该功能和生化奇兵2中的技能plasmids、 tonics及武器相组合时我们可以进行的强烈进攻,”Goode说。“这些模式非常棒,因为它们真的推进了Rapture的各种不同元素,比如处理小女孩和大女孩、及使用原子来组合及更新您自身。我们具有了所有这些东西,但是最终是游戏性本身真正地将所有这一切粘合到一起,并使得游戏玩起来像生化奇兵。”

Goode重申说,尽管这次仍然使用原来的但是经过很大修改的虚幻引擎2.5技术,但是玩家会在这个续作中感到巨大的进步。

“我们甚至没有使用已经完成的最新的虚幻技术,但是从我们正在制作的生化奇兵2中,尤其是多玩家游戏部分,您可以明显地感受到它的惊人效果,”Goode说。“我们添加了所有的多玩家游戏代码并可以正常运行,这完全是因为我们具有我们之前的生化奇兵团队所创建的内容中的虚幻编辑器及底层基础代码。

BioShock 2

尽管决定在这个续作中坚持使用这个自定义版本的虚幻引擎,但Thomas一直在不断关注Epic在其最新技术虚幻引擎3中所作的处理。

“我认为虚幻引擎是面向内容设计人员的,所以我之前有些偏见看法,但当我看到虚幻引擎3中加入了Epic的正式关卡编辑器中的功能、过场动画编辑器Matinee、及脚本系统Kismet时,我越来越兴奋,”Thomas说。”我认为这些东西太棒了。坦率地讲,我甚至有种返回去使用它的某些功能的想法。”

玩家可以于2010年9月重新返回到水下都市Rapture中,探索新的单玩家游戏续作及最初的多玩家游戏前作。

最近文章

Andy Serkis探讨虚幻对视频游戏技术的推动作用

在虚幻引擎4的技术支持下,《人猿星球:最后边疆》将该福克斯系列电影引入了互动娱乐领域。

《巨石阵VR:沙盒模式》的建筑灵感

Jessica Villarreal和Christian Bretz在亲自体验过VR后大受启发,两人立即认识到了VR的潜力并决定转型。在联手创办了Vo...

《Maelstrom》:危机四伏的公海

《Maelstrom》将街机风格的动作玩法与极具个人风格的奇幻灵感相结合,足以颠覆你对海战的印象。

BioShock 2

Unreal Engine 2.5 Still Brings Rapture Alive in Bioshock 2

John GFaudiosi on Feb 09, 2010 | Games

Project Details

Release Date
February 9, 2010
Publisher
Microsoft
Developer
2K Games
Platforms
Xbox 360, PlayStation 3, PC
URL
Visit site

SAN FRANCISCO, California – When Irrational Games, now 2K Boston, first embarked on its underwater odyssey to bring the city of Rapture to life in the original Bioshock, they chose Unreal Engine Engine 2.5. Although a new team (2K Marin), overseen by eight key members from the original venture, has taken the helm on the single-player sequel (Digital Extremes is developing the multiplayer prequel separately in Toronto), Unreal Engine 2.5 remains the main star of this unique and award-winning universe.

“Frankly, I’m an Unreal Engine fan and I have been since the beginning of my career as a designer,” said Jordan Thomas, creative director on Bioshock 2. “Today, our version of Unreal Engine is its own animal... it's branched out into a lot of different, very custom things that our teams have layered on top of that base.”

Thomas said the fact that Bioshock 2, which pushes the visuals that wowed critics and gamers alike in the first game, is still running on Unreal Engine 2.5 definitely speaks to the technology’s versatility. He said that while there has been a lot of formidable engineering work done by the Bioshock 1 and 2 teams, which he wouldn’t want to discount, but he believes it’s fairly impressive that Unreal Engine 2.5 is able to make a game like Bioshock 2 after being customized that much.”

BioShock 2

“It’s sort of an interesting situation for us because the flavor of Unreal Engine that we have has been mutated over the last eight or nine years at Irrational Studios and it has had a lot of custom work put into it,” said Zak McClendon, lead designer, Bioshock 2. “All development has its trials and tribulations, but the nice thing about Unreal Engine is it has a really good level design tool set and that’s the foundation of any good design workflow. It’s something that allows our guys to work very quickly within.”

Hogarth de la Plante, the lead environment artist on Bioshock 2, was a senior environment and level artist on the first game. He said the decision was made not to upgrade to Unreal Engine 3 because the team didn’t have any graphical problems with the first game. 

“We felt like it won almost every art direction and graphical award the industry had to offer that year so we were like, ‘Okay, do we really want to change our entire pipeline and move over to Unreal Engine 3 at this point, or do we just want to retrofit it with the things that we want to do for Bioshock 2?’ So we decided to just do it that way this time.”

BioShock 2

De la Plante said the team continued to build proprietary technology on top of Unreal Engine 2.3. He wanted to improve how the ocean looked when the player was inside, and so a team member created a special shader technology that made the water look better. De la Plante said Unreal Engine 2.5 gave his artists a lot more flexibility to be creative with shaders. 

He added that on a very kind of boring and technical level, it allowed the team to do more with less memory, basically.

BioShock 2

“For Bioshock 2, we had someone write volumetric fog on the rendering side, we added ambient inclusion, which we baked into our levels, and the AI system’s been completely re-written,” said de la Plante. “There’s a lot of stuff in there, so it’s not a lot like stock Unreal 2.5. It’s almost unrecognizable. In fact, we have the entire shader system from Unreal Engine 3 in this game. We liked what Epic had done so they bolted it onto our version of Unreal Engine.”

Digital Extremes has a history of working with Unreal technology, which Alan Goode, systems designer at the company said helped the team when working on the new online multiplayer gameplay for Bioshock 2.

 “Our previous experience with Unreal Engine meant that we had a lot of talented individuals who already knew the framework and knew how to actually get the things done that we really needed to do in order to push the technology a little bit further,” said Goode. “Even with building the levels, it was really helpful to have that previous experience because our level designers knew exactly how to use the BSPs and whatnot in order to really utilize the technology and then it all just came together.”

BioShock 2

Goode said the Digital Extremes team had to build all of the multiplayer code for Bioshock 2 because the modified Unreal Engine 2.5 technology that 2K Marin was employing had no multiplayer support. Goode promises that the end result that gamers experience will be an interactive blast.

“What really stands out with multiplayer is what we could push when it came to the combinations with the plasmids and the tonics and the weapons in Bioshock 2,” said Goode. “The modes are fantastic because they really push all of these different kind of elements of Rapture, like dealing with the little sisters and big sisters and splicing and updating yourself with atom. We had all of these things that were open to us, but at the end of the day it’s the gameplay itself that’s really sticks everything together and really makes it play like Bioshock.”

Goode reiterated that players won’t feel like this sequel is anything but a huge step forward, despite sticking with the original, but highly modified, Unreal 2.5 technology.

“We’re not even using the newest Unreal technology that’s out there, but it’s obviously fairly impressive from what you can see that we’re doing on Bioshock 2, especially within the multiplayer,” said Goode. “We added all the multiplayer code and got that in there, but it’s all because we have the Unreal editor and the underlying code base from what the previous Bioshock team created. 

BioShock 2

Although the decision was made to stick with this custom variation of Unreal Engine for this sequel, Thomas has kept abreast of what Epic has been doing with its latest technology Unreal Engine 3 technology.

“I think Unreal Engine is very content designer-oriented, so I’ve got a bias, but I am more and more excited by all the features that I’m seeing layering into both Epic’s formal level editor and also their cinematic editor, Matinee, and their visual scripting system, Kismet, with Unreal Engine 3,” said Thomas. “I think that that stuff is amazing. I sort of crave returning to using some of it, frankly.”

Gamers will be able to return to Rapture and explore new a new single-player sequel and an original multiplayer prequel February 9, 2010.