2009.8.25

使用虚幻引擎3制作的Batman:Arkham Asylum强势推出

作者 Unreal Engine

即将开启在漫画书之外的从来没有面世的DC Universe部分的大门:继The Dark Knight(暗夜骑士)的票房狂潮之后,Warner Bros. Interactive Entertainment、Eidos和Rocksteady工作室正在使用虚幻引擎3制作另一款针对PC、Xbox 360和PlayStation 3平台的巨作: Batman:Arkham Asylum(蝙蝠侠:阿卡汉姆疯人院)。

“我们一直把技术看做达到最终效果的方法,所以由于这个原因,当我们想进行PS3和Xbox 360开发时我们转到使用中间件,”Rocksteady的老板Sefton Hill说。

Batman: Arkham Asylum

“我们评估了市场上的不同引擎,但虚幻引擎3对于我们来说是最佳选择,主要有两个原因: 首先,它为美工人员和关卡设计人员提供的创新工具非常棒。其次,这些工具的设计是由和我们具有类似思想的游戏开发工作室驱动,该思想是创意人员必须可以充分释放他们的想象力来创建最棒的效果。因为Epic开发了虚幻技术,该技术在未来仍然会和Rocksteady的需求保持统一,这给了我们充足的信心。”

开发初期是40个人的团队,其中大部分人都在各种游戏方面使用过虚幻引擎3。这个团队最终壮大为60人。当游戏发行时,从开始制作到制作结束整个开发周期是21个月,其中包括预先试制作和后期制作。

“虚幻技术使得我们从开始开发游戏的第一天开始就着手于设计游戏性,”Hill说。“当创建自己的技术时,游戏团队在开始工作之前一般总是要等待技术团队发布他们的工具,这意味着即使一款开发了两年多的游戏,通常可能设计游戏性的时间还不到一年。”

Hill认为UE3的工具移除了限制很多创意专业人员实现其潜力的技术障碍。他说,这些工具很强大并且具有多功能性,使得游戏开发围绕于美工人员和关卡设计人员的才能及创意展开,而不仅仅是引擎程序员。

“同时这也解放了引擎团队,让他们可以进行更多的创新,”Hill说。“我知道我们引擎团队的某些成员已经找到了使用这些工具的方法,这些方法甚至令Epic感到惊叹。”

Batman: Arkham Asylum

UE3的另一个优势是它的跨平台互用性。Hill说,每个平台有它自己的固有独特要求,所以制作内容可以最大化跨平台效果是非常重要的。他接着说,使用UE3使得团队可以设计针对所有这三个平台的游戏,并使其快速并方便地运行。

“我们和Epic保持着非常好的关系,我给予它们再高的评价都不过分,”Hill说。“他们开发了如此强大的技术、通过虚幻开发者网络提供了实用的支持、并且当我们访问他们时受到了热情款待。除了所有这些之外,他们还有时间开发如此令人惊叹的游戏!”

Rocksteady的团队充分利用UE3技术实现了Batman(蝙蝠侠)的一系列黑暗环境。

“这个世界如此丰富多变;我们给自己定了个目标,既构建一个血统里流着Batman DNA(蝙蝠侠 DNA)的游戏世界,”Hill说。“将游戏背景设立于Arkham岛的关键原因是为了让玩家在玩游戏的过程中看到并感受到这个世界的历史。”

Batman: Arkham Asylum

“我们的总目标是发行一款具有无尽乐趣的逼真的Batman(蝙蝠侠)游戏,”Hill说。

Batman:Arkham Asylum(蝙蝠侠:阿卡汉姆疯人院)是使用虚幻引擎制作的表现Caped Crusader(披着斗篷的勇士)的第三款游戏。Midway Games去年发布了Mortal Kombat vs DC Universe,而 Sony Online Entertainment正在开发多玩家在线游戏DC Universe Online,预计明年年初发布。

最近文章

Andy Serkis探讨虚幻对视频游戏技术的推动作用

在虚幻引擎4的技术支持下,《人猿星球:最后边疆》将该福克斯系列电影引入了互动娱乐领域。

《巨石阵VR:沙盒模式》的建筑灵感

Jessica Villarreal和Christian Bretz在亲自体验过VR后大受启发,两人立即认识到了VR的潜力并决定转型。在联手创办了Vo...

《Maelstrom》:危机四伏的公海

《Maelstrom》将街机风格的动作玩法与极具个人风格的奇幻灵感相结合,足以颠覆你对海战的印象。

Batman: Arkham Asylum

Batman: Arkham Asylum Packs a Punch with Unreal Engine 3

Unreal Engine on Aug 25, 2009 | Games

Project Details

Release Date
August 25, 2009
Publisher
Eidos
Developer
Rocksteady
Platforms
Xbox 360, PlayStation 3, PC

The door to a part of the DC Universe never seen before outside of comic books is about to be opened: Warner Bros. Interactive Entertainment, Eidos and Rocksteady Studios are using Unreal Engine 3 to bring Batman: Arkham Asylum to PC, Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3 on the heels of The Dark Knight’s box office tidal wave.

“We have always seen technology as a means to an end, so for this reason we switched to middleware as soon as we moved onto PS3 and Xbox 360 development,” said Sefton Hill, director and owner, Rocksteady.

“We evaluated the different options in the marketplace, and Unreal Engine 3 was the best choice for us for two main reasons. First, the creative tools for artists and designers are excellent. Second, the design of the tools is driven by a game development studio which shares a similar philosophy to us – that the creative staff must be empowered to unleash their imaginations to create great results. This gave us every confidence that, as Epic developed Unreal, it would remain consistent with Rocksteady’s requirements in the future.”

Batman: Arkham Asylum

Development started with a team of 40, many of whom had been working with UE3 on various game concepts. That team eventually grew to over 60. When the game ships, total development time will be 21 months from start to finish including pre and post-production.

“Using Unreal allowed us to start work on the gameplay from day one,” said Hill. “When creating your own technology, the game team is often waiting for the technology team to deliver their tools before they can start work, which means that even games that have been in development for over two years have often had less than one year of work on the gameplay.”

Hill believes UE3’s tools remove technology hurdles that restrict many creative professionals from being able to realize their potential. He said the tools are powerful and versatile, making game development about the talent and imagination of artists and designers as opposed to just engine programmers.

Batman: Arkham Asylum

“This also frees up your engine team to be much more creative, as well,” said Hill. “I know some of our engine team have found ways to use the tools which has surprised even Epic.”

Another advantage of using UE3 is its cross-platform interoperability. Hill said each platform has its own inherently unique requirements, so it’s important to tailor content to maximize cross-platform results. He added that using UE3 allowed the team to get all three platforms up and running very quickly and easily.

“We have an excellent relationship with Epic, and I cannot speak highly enough of them,” said Hill. “They have developed such powerful technology, provided great hands-on support through the Unreal Developer Network, and have been excellent hosts when we have visited them. All this, and they still find time to develop such amazing games!”

Rocksteady’s team makes full use of UE3 technology to bring Batman’s spectrum of dark environments to life.

Batman: Arkham Asylum

“This universe is so rich and diverse; we set ourselves the goal to build a game world with the Batman DNA flowing through its veins,” said Hill. “A key reason to set the game on Arkham Island was to have the player see and feel the history of this universe as they play.”

“Our overall goal was simply to deliver an authentic Batman game that was great fun,” said Hill.

Batman: Arkham Asylum is the third game featuring the Caped Crusader that’s powered by Unreal Engine 3. Midway Games released Mortal Kombat vs DC Universe last year, and Sony Online Entertainment is developing the massively multiplayer online game, DC Universe Online, for release early next year. Also check out Batman: Arkham City, Rocksteady's latest in the series using UE3 game technology